Follow Us

IEEE vs NETA

Jump to latest post
  1. Donalddc is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    IEEE vs NETA

All, this is my first post as I am new to Test Guy. Well, not actually new but just getting involved in the forums. I have been researching PI and DAR criteria. The NETA MTS/ATS says that anything greater than 1 is good, but as I have researched I found a posted quote from IEEE and this table attached. Also, a lot of people have said that under 1.5 is a serious condition. What are your thoughts?

The table below shows the minimum IEEE 43-2013 PI ratings.

DAR PI Insulation Condition
    <1.25 1.0-2.0 Questionable
    1.25-1.6 2.0-4.0 Good
    >1.6 >4.0 Excellent

The table is not showing correctly when I post, so the first set of numbers is DAR, the second PI and the third the condition.

3. nwilliams is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    Quote Originally Posted by Donalddc View Post
    All, this is my first post as I am new to Test Guy. Well, not actually new but just getting involved in the forums. I have been researching PI and DAR criteria. The NETA MTS/ATS says that anything greater than 1 is good, but as I have researched I found a posted quote from IEEE and this table attached. Also, a lot of people have said that under 1.5 is a serious condition. What are your thoughts?

The table below shows the minimum IEEE 43-2013 PI ratings.

DAR PI Insulation Condition
    <1.25 1.0-2.0 Questionable
    1.25-1.6 2.0-4.0 Good
    >1.6 >4.0 Excellent

The table is not showing correctly when I post, so the first set of numbers is DAR, the second PI and the third the condition.