×
Follow Us
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Phasing a Tie Circuit Breaker

 Jump to latest post
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    #1
  1. Larry5443's Avatar
    Larry5443 is offline
    Cabinet Rat Neta Level 4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    18
    Reputation

    Phasing a Tie Circuit Breaker

    When phasing a tie breaker and you have 0 volts on A phase and 0 volts on B phase and 480 volts on C phase what is the right way to phase this .Do you roll the high side or the low side or both and what phases do you roll .Or do you roll phases on both low side or high side of each transformer.

  2. #2
  3. Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    11
    Reputation

    answer

    Quote Originally Posted by Larry5443 View Post
    When phasing a tie breaker and you have 0 volts on A phase and 0 volts on B phase and 480 volts on C phase what is the right way to phase this .Do you roll the high side or the low side or both and what phases do you roll .Or do you roll phases on both low side or high side of each transformer.
    roll the high side and roll phase B and C?.

  4. #3
  5. Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    11
    Reputation

    answer

    Quote Originally Posted by ruel guanzon View Post
    roll the high side and roll phase B and C?.
    Hi Larry! did I get this one right?

  6. #4
  7. Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    4
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by ruel guanzon View Post
    Hi Larry! did I get this one right?
    No you did not what did you use for a reference ,you guessed lol sorry

  8. #5
  9. madMAX's Avatar
    madMAX is offline Seasoned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    57
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by Larry5443 View Post
    When phasing a tie breaker and you have 0 volts on A phase and 0 volts on B phase and 480 volts on C phase what is the right way to phase this .Do you roll the high side or the low side or both and what phases do you roll .Or do you roll phases on both low side or high side of each transformer.

    Roll B and C on the load side? I don't think rolling the high side would result in 0 volts on the secondary, it would probably be like 340 or something.

  10. #6
  11. Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1
    Reputation

    phasing

    Hello Larry
    I'm confused.
    I have never had my readings like you said. I may have one phase is 0 and the other 2 read 480.
    But I have never seen 2 correct and 1 incorrect.
    Please elaborate or give me some more help.
    The only thing I can think of is rotation but I still believe only 1 would be correct and 2 incorrect
    Thanks for sharing this is making me think about how much I haven't seen

  12. #7
  13. Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    3
    Reputation
    You cant have a single roll on a 3 phase system. 2 phases would be reading voltage and one would read zero. This isn't possible because you have to swap two phases if phasing isn't correct. Maybe im not understanding the question...



    Quote Originally Posted by drrios1 View Post
    Hello Larry
    I'm confused.
    I have never had my readings like you said. I may have one phase is 0 and the other 2 read 480.
    But I have never seen 2 correct and 1 incorrect.
    Please elaborate or give me some more help.
    The only thing I can think of is rotation but I still believe only 1 would be correct and 2 incorrect
    Thanks for sharing this is making me think about how much I haven't seen

  14. #8
  15. Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    25
    Reputation

    Phasing

    There's no answer for this question, not in the way it is posted.

  16. #9
  17. SecondGen's Avatar
    SecondGen is offline
    I push buttons.
    NETA Level III Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    486
    Reputation
    I agree. Can we get some clarification on this question Larry?


    Quote Originally Posted by joaogemal View Post
    There's no answer for this question, not in the way it is posted.

  18. #10
  19. Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    25
    Reputation

    Phasing

    See the picture.

    But, if the question was like:
    You read 480 Volts on phase A and B, and Zero Volts on phase C then, the solution will be:
    Roll A and B on one side of the breaker.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	phasing.png 
Views:	115 
Size:	7.8 KB 
ID:	31

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Subscribe

Login or register to leave a reply!


Share this thread

Related Topics

  1. When should circuit breaker contacts be lubricated?
    By zofofg in forum NETA Level 2 Exam
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: December 21, 2018, 07:27 PM
  2. Vacuum Circuit Breaker
    By shamimkhan in forum Electrical Testing Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 8, 2017, 10:42 AM
  3. Identify this circuit breaker symbol
    By MAKI2016 in forum NETA Level 2 Exam
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: September 27, 2017, 08:33 AM
  4. Do you always pull circuit breaker arc chutes?
    By wrh9278 in forum Electrical Testing Talk
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 24, 2016, 12:50 PM

Tags for this Thread



Related Content


Follow us


Explore TestGuy


NETA Certification Training


NICET Electrical Power Testing


Help and Support