×
Follow Us
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Switching under full load

 Jump to latest post
    #1
  1. TrapFlyVenus's Avatar
    TrapFlyVenus is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    12
    Reputation

    Switching under full load

    Commissioning agents want to switch ups system under full load and they want us to do it. What would you guys do?

  2. #2
  3. Steviep is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Newark, DE
    Posts
    13
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapFlyVenus View Post
    Commissioning agents want to switch ups system under full load and they want us to do it. What would you guys do?
    Is the unit rated to be switched at full load? If the arc flash isn't high and if me and my co-workers were qualified id say do it. Just ensure all safety measures are taken to keep you here with us.

  4. #3
  5. Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    25
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapFlyVenus View Post
    Commissioning agents want to switch ups system under full load and they want us to do it. What would you guys do?
    For our Company the policy is no switching of live equipment, the customer does that. If they insist that we do it they are required to sign a waver that in the event that the switching that we do causes any damage we are not held responsible. Usually the customer is reluctant to sign this and they do the switching.

    But check with your company to see what their policy is for live switching.

    And if it comes back that you will do the switching I would double check that all the pieces of the system are rated for the load/forces you will be putting the on the system. It all comes down to your confidence level.

  6. #4
  7. Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    34
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by Steviep View Post
    Is the unit rated to be switched at full load? If the arc flash isn't high and if me and my co-workers were qualified id say do it. Just ensure all safety measures are taken to keep you here with us.
    I would also consider this.

  8. #5
  9. Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Red Oak TX
    Posts
    26
    Reputation

    Switching under load

    Quote Originally Posted by TrapFlyVenus View Post
    Commissioning agents want to switch ups system under full load and they want us to do it. What would you guys do?

    Have done this several times for performing battery run-down test for UPS and perform infrared scan while running on batteries. I have not seen the breaker in switchgear fail, but what really scares me is the actual UPS or batteries. I have seen batteries and UPS fail during load test. All of the work is performed with level 4 suit on.
    Keep suit on while in front of UPS, even if covers are already removed. My experience, that UPS fail when nobody was touching the unit, so don't think that people are safe just because there are no more covers to remove or no more breakers to operate.

  10. #6
  11. Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    1
    Reputation

    info

    Quote Originally Posted by TrapFlyVenus View Post
    Commissioning agents want to switch ups system under full load and they want us to do it. What would you guys do?
    I think more information is needed before making a decision here. What switching would you be doing? Transferring to/from UPS battery, possibly maintenance bypass?

Subscribe

Login or register to leave a reply!


Share this thread

Related Topics

  1. Inductor current full value time
    By test11 in forum NETA Level 3 Exam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 24, 2021, 07:43 AM
  2. Full-load current for single-phase AC motor
    By test11 in forum NETA Level 2 Exam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 17, 2020, 11:45 AM
  3. 1 phase AC 115V 1 HP motor full load current calc.
    By davidb in forum NETA Level 2 Exam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 2, 2018, 02:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Follow us


Explore TestGuy


NETA Certification Training


NICET Electrical Power Testing


Help and Support