×
Follow Us
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

What’s the best way to operate power dB

 Jump to latest post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    #1
  1. TrapFlyVenus's Avatar
    TrapFlyVenus is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    10
    Reputation

    What’s the best way to operate power dB

    What do you guys use for computers and the best way to set up power dB without failing? Operating this system is awesome...when it works. Either having trouble with devices connecting or power db itself shutting down.

  2. #2
  3. SecondGen's Avatar
    SecondGen is offline
    I push buttons.
    NETA Level III Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    393
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapFlyVenus View Post
    What do you guys use for computers and the best way to set up power dB without failing? Operating this system is awesome...when it works. Either having trouble with devices connecting or power db itself shutting down.
    My personal recommendation would be an i7 with 16GB RAM and dedicated gpu running win 10. Latest DB version is 11.2.8.4

    We just started integrating our compatible instruments with DB and so far so good. The delta 4k power factor set works great.

  4. #3
  5. TrapFlyVenus's Avatar
    TrapFlyVenus is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    10
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by SecondGen View Post
    My personal recommendation would be an i7 with 16GB RAM and dedicated gpu running win 10. Latest DB version is 11.2.8.4

    We just started integrating our compatible instruments with DB and so far so good. The delta 4k power factor set works great.
    I’ll check my updates could be it. I’m running an i3 but used to be able to run everything (meager wise) on a transformer test without a problem just recently acting up had to restart whole computer for it to read my driver

  6. #4
  7. SecondGen's Avatar
    SecondGen is offline
    I push buttons.
    NETA Level III Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    393
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapFlyVenus View Post
    I’ll check my updates could be it. I’m running an i3 but used to be able to run everything (meager wise) on a transformer test without a problem just recently acting up had to restart whole computer for it to read my driver
    What version are you running? A large database can eat up nearly 4GB RAM just in idle. How large is your db file? Maybe try reinstalling the drivers for the instrument.

  8. #5
  9. TrapFlyVenus's Avatar
    TrapFlyVenus is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    10
    Reputation
    Have 11.2 but There is a new file from 11-15 for 11.2 downloading now and files are all under 1GB

  10. #6
  11. TrapFlyVenus's Avatar
    TrapFlyVenus is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    10
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by SecondGen View Post
    What version are you running? A large database can eat up nearly 4GB RAM just in idle. How large is your db file? Maybe try reinstalling the drivers for the instrument.
    Looks like there’s a new update from 11-15 that deals with the drivers

  12. #7
  13. SecondGen's Avatar
    SecondGen is offline
    I push buttons.
    NETA Level III Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    393
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapFlyVenus View Post
    Looks like there’s a new update from 11-15 that deals with the drivers
    What version do you show after running the update?

  14. #8
  15. Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    1
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by SecondGen View Post
    My personal recommendation would be an i7 with 16GB RAM and dedicated gpu running win 10. Latest DB version is 11.2.8.4

    We just started integrating our compatible instruments with DB and so far so good. The delta 4k power factor set works great.
    Thank you SecondGen for your recommendation. It is really helpful.

  16. #9
  17. SecondGen's Avatar
    SecondGen is offline
    I push buttons.
    NETA Level III Pro Subscriber
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    393
    Reputation
    Quote Originally Posted by JuliaSmith View Post
    Thank you SecondGen for your recommendation. It is really helpful.
    No problem. Just to reiterate, those recommended specs are for the Pro version running a large SQL database. If you are using Lite, Advanced, or have a moderate Pro installation using an access database, you can probably get away with 4GB RAM on an i5 or i3 machine.

  18. #10
  19. Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    17
    Reputation

    megger and Powerdb

    When doing a PI using powerDB and an equipment suck as a 5kv megger; does anybody knows if you can actually select only the points(time/result) you are interested example minute 1, 2 and 10?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Subscribe

Login or register to leave a reply!


Share this thread

Tags for this Thread



Related Content


Follow us


Explore TestGuy


NETA Certification Training


NICET Electrical Power Testing


Help and Support