Follow Us

long time delay primary injection testing

Jump to latest post
  1. KLLU26 is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    long time delay primary injection testing

i've been testing for about 4 months now and one question i seem to keep asking (and haven't gotten a definitive answer) pertains to the recorded times of the long time delay during primary injection testing of a molded case square d circuit breaker.

while testing A phase, at X current we would record roughly 60 seconds.

B phase would drop to around 35-40 seconds,

C phase would be similar.

now i am familiar with the fact that as the breaker heats up the trip time will decrease, so my question is about the value that we record. in my mind under a normal load the breaker will be warmer, obviously, so during an overload the breaker would most likely trip around the 35-40 second mark. so why would we record and expect our values to be around 60 seconds from a cold test? i think it would be more accurate to record and expect the 35-40 second reading in a real world situation.

is this just part of the manufacturers specification or NETA standards?

3. Join Date
    Jun 2016
    SQ D Instructions

This SQ D IB gives you some reference specifically page 14.
    SQ D Field Test and Maint 0600IB1201 2013.pdf
    Quote Originally Posted by KLLU26 View Post
    i've been testing for about 4 months now and one question i seem to keep asking (and haven't gotten a definitive answer) pertains to the recorded times of the long time delay during primary injection testing of a molded case square d circuit breaker.

while testing A phase, at X current we would record roughly 60 seconds.

B phase would drop to around 35-40 seconds,

C phase would be similar.