Follow Us

Minimum Test Score Required to Pass?

Jump to latest post
  1. SpencerLott is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber
    Minimum Test Score Required to Pass?

Im currently studying to take the level 2 this month, and I was curious as to what the minimum passing score is. I know it used to be 70% but it seems like I heard it increased when they changed the test. Does anyone know? Thanks in advance!

I push buttons.
    NETA Level III Pro Subscriber
    Quote Originally Posted by SpencerLott View Post
    Im currently studying to take the level 2 this month, and I was curious as to what the minimum passing score is. I know it used to be 70% but it seems like I heard it increased when they changed the test. Does anyone know? Thanks in advance!
    Yes, it used to be 70% but NETA now says you need a passing score of 410 or higher on a scale of 200 to 500. I'm not exactly sure how this is measured. My guess would be you need at least a 73% to pass based on: 500-200 = 300 / 410 = 0.73, but this is just speculation.

I've heard that some questions have more weight to them than others, but again, just a rumor. One guy at my shop missed the NETA 3 by a fraction of a percent a few years ago, this was before they changed the scoring.

5. Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by SecondGen View Post
    Yes, it used to be 70% but NETA now says you need a passing score of 410 or higher on a scale of 200 to 500. I'm not exactly sure how this is measured. My guess would be you need at least a 73% to pass based on: 500-200 = 300 / 410 = 0.73, but this is just speculation.

I've heard that some questions have more weight to them than others, but again, just a rumor. One guy at my shop missed the NETA 3 by a fraction of a percent a few years ago, this was before they changed the scoring.
    I was told it was changed to 80%, but the explanation above seems legit

7. JtotheJ is offline Junior Member Pro Subscriber